Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Hampton Roads Community News

South Hampton Roads Omegas Host Joint Achievement Week Banquet

Lambda Omega, Zeta Iota, Gamma Xi, Sigma Kappa Kappa and Tau Lambda chapters of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. culminated a week of activities by celebrating the achievements of their respective members, community leaders and a high school essayist at a joint annual dinner celebration.

The annual event was held Sunday, November 20 at the Pavilion at Bide-A-Wee Golf Course in Portsmouth, VA. Michael Williams, Zeta Iota, served as emcee. A capacity crowd was on hand to hear a keynote address given by Chief Tonya Chapman, Portsmouth’s Chief of Police.

Theodore Wilder was Lambda Omega’s Omega Man of the Year. Earl P. Fraley received the Norfolk-based chapter’s Founders Award, and Emanuel Swindell was their Superior Service recipient. The chapter also recognized Norfolk Mayor Kenneth Alexander as their Citizen of the Year.

Zeta Iota, located in Portsmouth, selected their own Dr. Roosevelt Green, DDS, its Citizen of the Year. Michael Williams was their Omega Man of the Year, and Arthur Ray was recognized for his Superior Service. Gamma Xi recognized Congressman Bobby Scott as their Citizen of the Year. They presented their Founders Award to Turan Smith and recognized Reggie Matthews as their Omega Man of the Year.

Nathan Woodard and James Barber were both recognized for Superior Service by the Va. Beach-based chapter.

Chesapeake’s Sigma Kappa Kappa Chapter presented community activist, Nishell Buffalo as its Citizen of the Year. Omega Man of the Year honors went to Justin Hampton, the Founders Award to Will Bronson and Superior Service to Kodi Fleming.

Old Dominion’s Tau Lambda Chapter presented Morgan Michael Collens as its Citizen of the Year and Leon Brewington as its Omega Man of the Year. The $1000 award for best essay written by a high school senior went to Darren Johnson of Tallwood High School in Va. Beach, Va.

The members of the Joint Achievement Week (JAW) committee were Kenneth Edmond, Derrick Gilbert, Michael Mitchell and Michael Williams. Dwayne Barber is the Basileus – president–of Lambda Omega, Lloyd Jackson, Jr. heads Zeta Iota, Gamma Xi is led by Turan Smith, Sigma Kappa Kappa by Justin Hampton and Leon Brewington leads Tau Lambda.

jaw-3045 jaw-3088 jaw-3061

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Please follow and like us:

NJG 2023 Calendar

Purchase Through Paypal

You may find these interesting

Hampton Roads Community News

By Jaylen Scott Winter Intern New Journal and Guide PORTSMOUTH The Hampton Roads Community Health Center held a grand opening of their new building,...

Hampton Roads Community News

NORFOLK A group of more than 30 Hampton Roads-area pastors and ministers recently announced their support for the candidacy of Delegate Angelia Williams Graves...

Black Arts and Culture

By Leonard E. Colvin Chief Reporter New Journal and Guide On December 1, 1955, Rosa Parks resisted a bus driver’s order to give up...

Black Business News

By Jaylen Scott Winter Intern New Journal and Guide Ida B. Wells-Barnett was a prominent African American journalist and activist. She played a big...

%d bloggers like this: