Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


John McLendon deservedly elected to Basketball Hall of Fame for second time

John McLendon
Basketball coaching legend John McLendon, one of the founders of the CIAA Basketball Tournament who went on to coach the Tennessee State men’s basketball team to three NAIA National Championships in the late 1950s, was elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as a coach, it was announced during a special presentation on ESPN on Monday morning. McLendon had previously been enshrined to the Hall of Fame in 1979 as a contributor to the game.

McLendon served as the head coach of the TSU men’s basketball program from 1954-1959, compiling a 144-20 overall record in five seasons employing revolutionary tactics such as the full-court press and four-corners offense. Utilizing the talent of future NBA All-Star Dick Barnett, McLendon guided the Tigers to NAIA National Championships in 1957, 1958 and 1959. His .878 winning percentage at TSU is the best in program history.

During his career, McLendon coached on the collegiate level at North Carolina Central, winning the first CIAA Tournament title in 1946, Hampton, TSU, Kentucky State and Cleveland State. In professional basketball, he was the first African American to coach the pro game with the Cleveland Pipers of the American Basketball League in 1961, and he also coached the Denver Rockets of the American Basketball Association.

McLendon was elected into the Tennessee State Athletics Hall of Fame in 1983, the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007 and the Cleveland State Hall of Fame in 2007. McLendon is part of the 10-member Class of 2016 that will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Sept. 9 in Springfield, Mass. The class includes: Zelmo Beaty (Player), Darrell Garretson (Referee), Allen Iverson (Player), Tom Izzo (Coach), Yao Ming (Player), Shaquille O’Neal (Player), Cumberland Posey (Player), Jerry Reinsdorf (Owner) and Sheryl Swoopes (Player).

Please follow and like us:

NJG 2023 Calendar

Purchase Through Paypal

You may find these interesting

Hampton Roads Community News

PORTSMOUTH Rivers Casino Portsmouth celebrated its grand opening today—making history as the Commonwealth of Virginia’s first full-service permanent casino. The event kicked off with...

Hampton Roads Community News

Community News No Fares, Transit Equity Day, Feb. 3; Honors Rosa Parks HAMPTON ROADS Hampton Roads Transit will be observing Transit Equity Day on...

Hampton Roads Community News

By Leonard E. Colvin Chief Reporter New Journal and Guide Emery Lewis Fear, Jr., 97, who was an inspirational marching band director at I.C....

Black College News

By Rosaland Tyler Associate Editor New Journal and Guide Winston-Salem, Baltimore, Maryland and Philadelphia are among several local police departments that say they are...