Connect with us


“Teaching While Black” At VCU




STOP, Inc. (Supporting Transformational Opportunities for People) held its 2017-2018 Annual Stakeholders Luncheon on Friday, November 16 at the Delta Hotels by Marriott in Chesapeake. The theme was “Sowing Seeds For Sustainable Success.”

STOP, Inc. is observing its 53rd year as a community action agency in Hampton Roads. It is headed by its President and CEO Regina Lawrence and a Board of Directors with William E. Curtis, as its Chairman.

Listed on the program to bring greetings during the luncheon were Drew Lumpkin, Regional Director, Sen. Mark Warner’s Office; and Chesapeake Mayor Rick West.


The keynote speech was delivered by Dr. L.D. Britt, Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Eastern Virginia Medical School, is an esteemed innovator in the medical field.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Juan M. Montero, II, the founder of the Chesapeake Care Clinic and Montero Medical Missions. In making the presentation, it was noted that Dr. Montero’s career as a general and non-cardiac thoracic surgeon in Eastern Virginia and abroad make him worthy of STOP’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Seed Awards were presented to People, Inc.; Southeastern Rural Community Assistance Project (SERCAP); Total Action For Progress (TAP); and Virginia Community Action Re-Entry System (VA-CARES).

STOP, Inc. presented its 2018 Community Partnership Awards to Rick Ecker of Vets on Track; Julius Norman of NRHA; Ron Taylor and Freeman Pauling of Men of Faith; and, Dr. Edwin Chapman, Audrey Whetsell, and Larry Gourdine of Medical Home Development Group.

Board members listed on the program were William E. Curtis, Ernest Claud, Jr., Perdethia Lowery, Perry Hargrove, Lisa Lucas-Burke, Dr. Bertha Escoffery.


CEO and President Regina Lawrence made special presentations to PNC Bank, the Platinum Sponsor, and other STOP, Inc. supporters.

Please follow and like us:
%d bloggers like this: