Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Black College News

SWAC names top 2016 football players

Alabama A&M University, Grambling State and Prairie View A&M took home the four major awards of the 2016 season, as the Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its postseason football awards in voting conducted by league head coaches and sports information directors.

The conference made the announcement on Wednesday, just two days prior to its 2016 Toyota SWAC Football Championship on Saturday, Dec. 3, at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Grambling quarterback Devante Kincade was named Offensive Player of the Year, and fellow Tiger Donovan McCray secured Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Alabama A&M running back Jordan Bentley received the Freshman of the Year award, and Prairie View’s Joshua Simmons landed the Newcomer of the Year award.

Grambling coach Broderick Fobbs took home his third-straight SWAC Coach of the Year award after leading the Tigers to a second-straight nine-win season as well as an unblemished record in conference play for the second-straight year. Under Fobbs, Grambling State currently stands as the only team in the nation (FCS) with a top-5 scoring offense and defense.

Grambling State picked up the most all-conference selections with 14. Southern was next with 10 selections. Both Grambling State and Southern each had an astounding nine players garner first-team consideration.

Kincade led Grambling State to a 9-1 overall record and a second straight perfect record in conference play. He was first in the SWAC in passing efficiency (171.6) and completion percentage (65.2), passing yards per game (263.3) and total offensive yards per game (290.4). Kincade had 28 touchdown passes to just three interceptions.

McCray made 28 total stops – 11.5 for loss — with five sacks, three fumble recoveries, a blocked kick and a safety recorded. The Tigers defense led the SWAC in most every statistical category and ranked fourth in FCS in points allowed (16.4), as well as ranked first nationally in red zone defense (.577).

Bentley rushed for 851 yards and notched 10 total scores (9 rush, 1 receiving). Simmons had 20 grabs for 240 yards and two scores and racked up 434 return yards and one kick return touchdown. In all, Simmons accounted for more than 700 all-purpose yards and three total touchdowns.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Devante Kincade (Grambling State)
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Donovan McCray (Grambling State)
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Joshua Simmons (Prairie View A&M)
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Jordan Bentley (Alabama A&M)
COACH OF THE YEAR – Broderick Fobbs (Grambling State)

QB- Devante Kincade, GSU; RB – Lenard Tillery, SU; Martez Carter, GSU; OL -Justin Miller, GSU; Terrell Lee, SU; Anthony Mosley, SU; Sam Baptiste, ALS; Jamal Boulden, SU; WR – Chad Williams, GSU; Willie Quinn, SU; TE – Dillon Beard, SU

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

DL – Javancy Jones, JSU; Aaron Tiller, SU; Donovan McCray, GSU; Samuel Reese, GSU; LB – Arkez Cooper, GSU; Darien Anderson, ALC; Kourtney Berry, ALS; DB Guy Stallworth, GSU; Danny Johnson, SU; Jameel Jackson, GSU; Eric Foster, ALC

K – Eric Medina, TSU; P – Erick Medina, TSU; RS – Willie Quinn, SU

QB – Austin Howard, SU; RB – Khalid Thomas, ALS; Jordan Bentley, AA&M; OL – Trent Scott, GSU; Detonio Dade, ALC; Donovan Wheaton, PV; Timothy Gardner,
ALC; Gustavo Lopez, PV: WR – Verlan Hunter, GSU; Willie Young, UAPB; TE – Jonathan Dorsey, AA&M

DL – Blain Winston, GSU; Michael Brooks, ALC; Roderick Henderson, ALS; DeVon Reed, PV; LB – Javancy Jones, JSU; Willie Duncan, UAPB; Michael Hurns, ALC;
DB – Bradley Street, ALS; Terrence Singleton, PV; Zavian Bingham, JSU; Justin Jemison, JSU

K – Jonathan Wallace, GSU; P – Owen Hoolihan, PV; RS -Martez Carter, GSU

You May Also Like