Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Black College News

Seven To Go Into CIAA Hall Of Fame

The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) will induct seven honorees into the 2016-17 John B. McLendon, Jr., Hall of Fame. A formal induction ceremony will be held at the Hall of Fame Breakfast on Friday, February 24 at 9:00 a.m. in the Charlotte Convention Center.

The CIAA will induct Dr. Mickey L. Burnim, President of Bowie State University; Lakisha Phifer-Patterson, former women’s basketball student-athlete at Saint Paul’s College; Dr. DeWayne Jeter, former Virginia State University quarterback; Derrick Johnson and Terry Davis, former basketball standouts at Virginia Union University; Richard Huntley, former Winston-Salem State University running back; and Stephen A. Smith, Winston-Salem State University alumni and CIAA supporter.

“We are pleased to honor this distinguished group of individuals whose talents and contributions to the CIAA and its member institutions have been locally and nationally recognizable and impactful,” said Jacqie McWilliams, CIAA Commissioner.

The CIAA recognizes inductees for their excellence in the CIAA, significant contributions in the community, leadership in CIAA sports, and commitment to the conference mission. Each honoree is recommended by the CIAA Hall of Fame Committee, endorsed by the Management Council, and approved by the Board of Directors.

Friday morning’s induction ceremony is one of many ancillary events surrounding the 2017 CIAA Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournament that will be held in Charlotte, North Carolina from February 21-25, 2017. Individual seats and tables of ten for the induction ceremony and celebration breakfast are now on sale and can be purchased using the online registration or by mail via downloadable payment form.

You May Also Like