Connect with us


Four from HBCUs slated for Small College Basketball HOF induction



Basketball HBCU

Three players and one coach from HBCUs have been announced selected for induction into the class of 2017 for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame.

Prairie View and NBA center Zelmo Beaty, Southern and NBA forward Bob Love, Kentucky State and later center Elmore Smith and former Virginia Union Head Coach Dave Robbins head a group of 12 new inductees.

This year’s ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 6:30 p.m. at the Doubletree by Hilton in Evansville, Indiana.

This is the second year of induction. The 2016 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana. The event began with the induction of 15 inaugural Hall of Famers including seven from HBCUs – Dick Barnett (player, Tennessee State), Clarence Gaines (coach, Winston-Salem State head coach), Travis Grant (player, Kentucky State), Bob Hopkins (player, Grambling), John McLendon (coach, Tennessee State, Kentucky State, North Carolina Central), Earl Monroe (player, Winston-Salem State), Willis Reed (player, Grambling).


“It is an absolute thrill to announce the Class of 2017 for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame,” said SCB Founder, John McCarthy. “This class represents the best of the best in the history of small college basketball, and it is with great pleasure that we announce this class.”

The Small College Basketball Class of 2017 consists of the following HBCU members:

Zelmo Beaty, Prairie View A&M
Two-time All American (1960, 1962); Won the NAIA National Championship in 1962; MVP of the NAIA National Tournament, 1962; Set the NAIA Tournament record for rebounds in a tournament (96), a record that still stands; Averaged 25 points and 20 rebounds for his four-year career; Named to the NAIA’s 50th & 75th Anniversary Teams; National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame (2014); Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame (2016); NAIA Hall of Fame.

Bob Love, Southern
Two-time All-American and a three-time All Southwestern Conference selection; Finished his career as Southern’s all-time leading scorer and rebounder with 2,458 points (23.1 career average) and 1,166 rebounds (14.9 career average); Averaged 30.6 points (8th in nation) and 18.2 rebounds in 1965; Averaged 26.0 ppg and 18 rpg in 1964; Averaged 22.6 ppg and 12.3 rpg in 1963; He has been inducted into the NAIA, Basketball Coaches, Illinois, Helms and Louisiana Halls of Fame; Selected by the NBA’s Cincinnati Royals in the fourth round of the 1965 draft.

Elmore Smith, Kentucky State
“The Big E” was a 7-0 center for Kentucky State; In three seasons at Kentucky State, he had 1,813 points and 1,917 rebounds; Member of Kentucky State back-to-back National Championship winning teams (1970 & 1971); Named to the NAIA All-Tournament Team in 1970 & 1971; Holds NAIA and All Division record for rebounds in a single season (799) in 1971; Two-time All American (Second Team in 1970 & First Team in 1971); As a freshman, he averaged 14.7 ppg & 19.8 rpg; as a sophomore, he averaged 21.6 png & 22.7 rpg; As a junior, he averaged an astonishing 25.5 ppg, 24.2 rpg & 8.1 blocks per game; Member of the NAIA’s 50th & 75th All-Anniversary Teams; In 2008, he was inducted into the Georgia Hall of Fame; He left for the NBA after his junior year in 1971 and played professional basketball until 1979. He went to the Buffalo Braves [now Los Angeles Clippers] as the 3rd pick in the first round of the 1971 NBA Draft.

Dave Robbins, Virginia Union
2012 College Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee; Compiled a 713-194 record (78.6 winning percentage) in 30 seasons; Won three NCAA Division II National Championships (1980,1992,2005); One of three coaches to win three or more NCAA Division II Championships; 2006 NCAA Division II Runner-up; Three NCAA Division II Third Place Finishes: 1991, 1996, 1998; Twenty-four 20-win seasons including four 30-win seasons; 25 NCAA Tournament appearances; 7 Regional Championships; Won 14 CIAA Conference Championships; Honored with Virginia Union Lifetime Coaching Award; First white coach in CIAA History; Inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame

Please follow and like us:
Continue Reading
%d bloggers like this: