Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Edith G. Johnson Memorial Scholarship Breakfast

On Saturday, March 10, 2012, from 9:00 am until noon, The 3rd Annual Edith G. Johnson Memorial  Scholarship Breakfast will be held at the Sixth Mount Zion Baptist Fellowship Hall located at 3100 Butternut Drive in Hampton, Virginia.  The purpose of this scholarship breakfast is to garner funds to assist and/or support youth in their endeavors to succeed. In addition to a delicious breakfast, you will be entertained with a fashions, fun activities, live entertainment, prizes and the Word. The cost for this wonderful benefit is $15.00. 


For more information contact Tanya Weaver at (757) 627-0854 or




The Norfolk Chapter of Club DeJouir, Incorporated, a social and civic organization, hosted its Annual Valentine Dance at Vista Point Center, Norfolk Naval Station, on Saturday, February 11, 2012. DeJouirs and guest danced the night away to the music of N’Treque Band and enjoyed a lavish buffet with valentine designed desserts.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

A highlight of the affair was the presentation of monetary contributions to the Southside Boys and Girls Club and the Hampton Roads Boys Choir. These gifts, a part of the civic obligations of the Club, were graciously accepted by DeJouir Ruby Jackson, for Coach Elwood Williams, and Mr. Julius McCullough, Director, of the choir.  Another great part of the evening were the two gift cards, from Wal-Mart, given away in a free raffle.  Photos for the gala event were taken by Larry Brooks.


Accolades were given to DeJouir Andrea Jackson, President, and to the members of the project committee for a job well done. The committee was chaired by DeJouir Esther Gorham-Whitley, and co-chaired by DeJouir June Skinner Banks. Other members of the committee were DeJouirs Gladys Bruton, Shelby Gorham, Loleta Hammond, Alma Jackson and Shirley Watson-Rudd. Active members of the Norfolk Chapter of DeJouirs are Lucretia Beckett, Barbara Gibbs, Betty Harris, Ruby Jackson, Shirley Keyes, Diane Lane and Sarah Wood. A very welcomed out-of-town guest, for the evening, was associate DeJouir member Muriel Felder.




On Saturday, April 21, 2012 at 5:00pm, The Norfolk Chapter of the Norfolk State University Alumni Association will present the 31st Annual Noah F. and Georgia A. Ryder Commemorative Concert. Dr. Patricia Saunders Nixon, a renown soprano, and The Booker T. Washington High School Alumni Choir will be featured. This fundraiser, for scholarships, will take place at Bank Street Memorial Baptist church located at 7036 Chesapeake Boulevard in Norfolk, Virginia. The event is FREE and open to the public.


Funds for the scholarships are generated by tax-exempt donations and by the purchase of advertisements in the souvenir program. PLEASE SAVE THE DATE — SATURDAY, APRIL 21, 2012. For more information concerning this wonderful afternoon of entertainment, contact concert committee chair, Vincent Harris at(757) 686-9053; or chapter president, Alfred R. Steward at (757) 473-3681.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.



Recently, The Young Professionals, an auxiliary of the Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc., presented Silver Star Awards during the 10th Annual Legacies Awards Program.  The program, held at the Roper Theater, Norfolk, was in conjunction with Tidewater Community College.  Mistresses of Ceremonies for the occasion were Ariane Aramburo, co-host/WAVY-TV 10’S Hampton Roads Show; and Jessica Larche, investigative reporter, WTKR-TV 3. Dr.  Deborah M. DiCroce, President of Tidewater Community College and Board Chair of The Urban League welcomed the audience.  A statement of the Occasion was done by Sareeta M. C. Spriggs, Vice President of the Urban League Young Professionals.  Entertainment was by The Hurrah Players and Anointed to Mime.


Recipients of the coveted Silver Star Awards were Chavis Harris/Diversity; Dr. Alvin Schexnider/Education; Debra Flores/Healthy Families and Communities;  Francina Harrison/Jobs and Entrepreneurship; Joe Neuman/Spirit of Service Award; Louisa Strayhorn/ Legend Award; Sareeta M. C.  Spriggs/ Young Professional of the Year; and Valencia Ballard/Young Professional Community Empowerment Award.  Remarks were given by Carlos J. Clanton/ President of the Young Professionals; and Edith G. White/President and CEO of The Urban League of Hampton Roads.  A reception followed the benediction by Rev. Teddy Allen pastor of WAVE Church in Norfolk.

For more information concerning the Young Professionals of The Urban League of Hampton Roads, Inc. log on to



Keep reading the New Journal and Guide and  remember to send me information  at email address:


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Please follow and like us:

NJG 2023 Calendar

Purchase Through Paypal

You may find these interesting

Hampton Roads Community News

Community News No Fares, Transit Equity Day, Feb. 3; Honors Rosa Parks HAMPTON ROADS Hampton Roads Transit will be observing Transit Equity Day on...

Hampton Roads Community News

By Leonard E. Colvin Chief Reporter New Journal and Guide Emery Lewis Fear, Jr., 97, who was an inspirational marching band director at I.C....

Black College News

By Rosaland Tyler Associate Editor New Journal and Guide Winston-Salem, Baltimore, Maryland and Philadelphia are among several local police departments that say they are...

Hampton Roads Community News

By Stacy M. Brown NNPA Newswire Senior National Correspondent @StacyBrownMedia The National Council of Negro Women, Inc. (NCNW) said that Shavon Arline-Bradley would be...