Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


18th Annual Human Rights Awards Program at Beach Convention Center


The Virginia Beach Human Rights Commission will hold its18th annual Human Rights Awards Program on Thursday, March 15, at 7 p.m. at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.


“We received several wonderful nominations,” commission Chairperson Fay B. Silverman said.  “After a very detailed process, we have selected five recipients to receive human rights awards.”


The 2012 Human Rights Award Recipients Are:


Brandon Middle School Step Team

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Deborah Maloney

Dr. Esther  Monclova-Johnson

Vincent Schilling


Together We  Can Foundation


In addition, the commission will present the following recipients with special, prestigious awards:


• Marie Thompson, who will receive the Daniel M. Stone Humanitarian Award, in memory of the late Daniel M. Stone, former Department of Social Services director.

• Imam Vernon M. Fareed, who will receive the Meyera E. Oberndorf Human Rights Award for Achievement in Government.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

• Taylor Hooker, who will receive the first-ever Helen P. Shropshire Human Rights Youth Award.

Recipients were selected by commission members based on their efforts to promote cultural diversity, social awareness and human rights in our community.

The commission advocates for the human rights of city residents by providing educational programming, public forums and assistance to those whose rights may have been violated.

For more information, call (757) 385-1158. Tickets will not be sold at the door.


You May Also Like